DIY Hope Chest Dollhouse

I’ve always wanted to make my daughter a vintage dollhouse, and now I finally have a little girl, and she is finally old enough to have one! So for Christmas I’ve been playing Santa’s helper, and working at night after the babies are asleep.

This hope chest has been hidden away, used as a toy box in our closet for years. We found it at a rummage sale for 5 dollars.  I started by painting the outside, and adding wood slats on the inside, for walls.PicMonkey Collage1

IMG_2533.JPG

Then I painted the ceilings white, and modge podged the walls and floors with craft paper, and cutouts from a book I found at a thrift store! 1 dollar for the book! Thrift stores are the coolest, and the MVPs of this post.

PicMonkey Collage10

I then made my furniture piece by piece, using inexpensive items from around the house, and thrift store finds. One of the toughest problems with dollhouses, are how costly the furniture can be! 44 bucks for a living room??? Umm no!  Each piece cost me a dollar or less to create.

PicMonkey Collage9

PicMonkey Collage3

PicMonkey Collage2

PicMonkey Collage8

PicMonkey Collage7

PicMonkey Collage4

PicMonkey Collage6

PicMonkey Collage5.jpg

I then put all the rooms together making sure my windows lined up where I wanted them.

PicMonkey Collage22PicMonkey Collage13PicMonkey Collage12PicMonkey Collage15PicMonkey Collage11

Then I set out to create the family I wanted for the house. I always thought it would be cute to have a little fox family!  I made the bodies using foam, wire and felt, so they would be pose-able and free standing.  I got lucky with the heads, they were broken ornaments from Target! They gave them to me for free! I then made the little clothes, keeping to a vintage theme.

PicMonkey Collage19PicMonkey Collage20

And there you have it! A DIY vintage dollhouse, so fun to make, and SO inexpensive! Merry Christmas DIY babes!

PicMonkey Collage17

 

 

Leave a Reply

